The SF Municipal Railway (Muni) had operated for a little over a year when its Potrero Division was constructed in 1914. The division still operates out of its original building at Mariposa and Hampshire streets, on the border of Potrero Hill and the Mission District, and hosts Muni’s largest trolley buses.
This historic facility, once known as the “17th Street Car House,” has a few unique features, like a relaxing “rec hall” for operators and a second-floor trolley bus yard, once called the “flight deck.”
In a rare behind-the-scenes image below from the division’s early years, streetcar operators can be seen taking advantage of the recreation hall in 1925, playing a game of pool while they wait to start their next streetcar run.
Left: Potrero Division in the 1920s, an enjoyable place for operators to pass the time between “split” runs, had a “rec hall” with billiards tables, a shuffleboard table and tobacco spittoons. Right: Potrero’s custom-built “flight deck,” seen here in 1949, houses trolley buses above facilities including a washer.