SAN FRANCISCO MUNICIPAL TRANSPORTATION AGENCY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

RESOLUTION No. 170117-008

WHEREAS, New Year's Eve is a celebratory night in San Francisco attracting residents and visitors from throughout the City and the region to come enjoy San Francisco and ensuring their safety and general public safety is a critical goal of our City and the SFMTA; and,

WHEREAS, In support of Transit First and Vision Zero, the SFMTA encourages celebrants to leave their cars at home and take public transportation by doubling Muni Owl service levels, keeping the subway open until 4am, and providing free fares to the public; and,

WHEREAS, Transit operators are critical to providing the promised transit service and ensuring their attendance on New Year's Eve is crucial to fulfilling SFMTA's public safety and service promise; and,

WHEREAS, Providing incentive pay to transit operators who start work on New Year's Eve and continue to work into New Year's Day maximizes attendance and the SFMTA's ability to provide the promised transit service; and,

WHEREAS, On January 10, 2017, the SFMTA, under authority delegated by the Planning Department, determined that the incentive pay for SFMTA service critical operators who begin work on New Year's Eve is not defined as a "project" under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations Sections 15060(c) and 15378(b); and,

WHEREAS, A copy of the CEQA determination is on file with the Secretary to the SFMTA Board of Directors, and is incorporated herein by reference; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors authorizes the Director of Transportation to provide incentive pay for SFMTA service critical operators who begin work on New Year's Eve 2016 and continued into New Year's Day for 2017 (retroactive).

I certify that the foregoing resolution was adopted by the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors at its meeting of January 17, 2017.

Joomer

Secretary to the Board of Directors San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency