SAN FRANCISCO MUNICIPAL TRANSPORTATION AGENCY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

RESOLUTION No. 200218-020

WHEREAS, The San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency is committed to making San Francisco a Transit First city that prioritizes sustainable transportation; and,

WHEREAS, The Muni Reliability Working Group presented its recommendations to improve Muni performance to the SFMTA Board, including a priority action to "create a quickbuild program for transit priority investments that mirrors the Vision Zero quick-build program"; and,

WHEREAS, A transit priority quick-build project is defined to only include reversible or adjustable traffic controls to facilitate transit reliability, reduced travel time and improve safety, such as roadway and curb paint, traffic signs, traffic delineators, traffic signal changes, transit boarding islands, and parking and loading changes; and,

WHEREAS, Implementing transit priority quick-build projects on corridors where Muni Forward projects are planned and on the top ten Transit Delay Hot Spots will accelerate the delivery of travel time improvements on these corridors; and,

WHEREAS, A transit priority quick-build project shall include a thorough and transparent evaluation, including soliciting stakeholder feedback, collecting and analyzing safety and performance data, and posting evaluation results on the SFMTA website; and,

WHEREAS, The evaluation duration of a transit priority quick-build project is for 24 months, and an informational report will be provided to the SFMTA Board of Directors at the conclusion of that period with findings and any future recommendations; and,

WHEREAS, The SFMTA proposes to develop transit priority quick-build projects on the following eight Muni Forward corridors and ten locations on the list of Transit Delay Hot Spots:

Muni Forward corridors:

- J Church line on between Duboce Avenue and Geneva Avenue
- K Ingleside line on Ocean Avenue between Junipero Serra Boulevard and Geneva Avenue
- M Oceanview line between Junipero Serra Boulevard and Geneva Avenue
- N Judah line between Church Street and La Playa
- 22 Fillmore line on Fillmore Street between Duboce Avenue and Marina Boulevard
- 29 Sunset (entire route)
- 1 California (entire route)
- 5 Fulton line on Fulton Street between Arguello Boulevard and Park Presidio

Transit Delay Hot Spots:

- 37 Corbett: Church Street and Market Street to 14th Street and Church Street
- 44 O'Shaughnessy: Woodside Avenue and Portola Drive to O'Shaughnessy Boulevard and Portola Drive
- 54 Felton: Van Dyke Avenue and Lane Street to Williams Avenue and 3rd Street
- 30X Marina Express: Pine Street and Front Street to Pine Street and Battery Street
- 27 Bryant: Cyril Magnin Street and Market Street to 5th Street and Mission Street
- 44 O'Shaughnessy: Silver Avenue and San Bruno Avenue to Silver Ave and Bayshore Blvd
- 8AX Bayshore "A" Express and 8BX Bayshore "B" Express: Kearny Street and Sutter Street to Kearny Street and Bush Street
- 19 Polk: Larkin Street and O'Farrell Street to Geary Street and Larkin Street
- 24 Divisadero: Cortland Avenue and Mission Street to 30th Street and Mission Street
- 1BX California "B" Express (and other express routes): Bush Street and Sansome Street to Sansome Street and Pine Street; and,

WHEREAS, To implement these transit priority quick-build projects on a timely basis, staff recommends that the SFMTA Board authorize the City Traffic Engineer to determine locations to install tow-away zones and add, remove, modify, or lengthen bus zones on the eight corridors and ten Transit Delay Hot Spot Segments listed above, based upon a determination of public convenience and necessity including, but not limited to, the alleviation of traffic congestion and public safety; and,

WHEREAS, On January 23, 2020, the SFMTA, under authority delegated by the Planning Department, determined that the above-mentioned approvals are not defined as a "project" under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant to Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations Sections 15060(c) and 15378(b); and,

WHEREAS, Authorizing the City Traffic Engineer does not commit the SFMTA to a definite course of action in carrying out any individual proposal, tow-away zone or bus zone modification; any projects proposed as "quick-build" projects that would result in a direct or indirect physical change to the environment will undergo environmental review before project approval; and,

WHEREAS, A copy of the CEQA determination is on file with the Secretary to the SFMTA Board of Directors, and is incorporated herein by reference; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the SFMTA Board of Directors authorizes the City Traffic Engineer to install tow-away zones and add, remove, modify, or lengthen bus zones on eight Muni Forward corridors and ten Transit Delay Hot Spot segments, based upon a determination of public convenience and necessity including, but not limited to, the alleviation of traffic congestion and public safety as follows: Muni Forward corridors:

- J Church line on between Duboce Avenue and Geneva Avenue
- K Ingleside line on Ocean Avenue between Junipero Serra Boulevard and Geneva Avenue
- M Oceanview line between Junipero Serra Boulevard and Geneva Avenue
- N Judah line between Church Street and La Playa
- 22 Fillmore line on Fillmore Street between Duboce Avenue and Marina Boulevard
- 29 Sunset line (entire route)
- 1 California line (entire route)
- 5 Fulton line on Fulton Street between Arguello Boulevard and Park Presidio

Transit Delay Hot Spots:

- 37 Corbett line: Church Street and Market Street to 14th Street and Church Street
- 44 O'Shaughnessy line: Woodside Avenue and Portola Drive to O'Shaughnessy Boulevard and Portola Drive
- 54 Felton line: Van Dyke Avenue and Lane Street to Williams Avenue and 3rd Street
- 30X Marina Express line: Pine Street and Front Street to Pine Street and Battery Street
- 27 Bryant line: Cyril Magnin Street and Market Street to 5th Street and Mission Street
- 44 O'Shaughnessy line: Silver Avenue and San Bruno Avenue to Silver Ave and Bayshore Blvd
- 8AX Bayshore "A" Express and 8BX Bayshore "B" Express lines: Kearny Street and Sutter Street to Kearny Street and Bush Street
- 19 Polk line: Larkin Street and O'Farrell Street to Geary Street and Larkin Street
- 24 Divisadero line: Cortland Avenue and Mission Street to 30th Street and Mission Street
- 1BX California "B" Express line (and other express lines): Bush Street and Sansome Street to Sansome Street and Pine Street; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That SFMTA staff shall report to the SFMTA Board of Directors at the conclusion of any transit priority quick-build project, including evaluation findings and recommendations.

I certify that the foregoing resolution was adopted by the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors at its meeting of February 18, 2020.

OK BOOMER

Secretary to the Board of Directors San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency