Mission Bay Transportation Improvement Fund Advisory Committee



Bruce Agid – Chair Sarah Davis Amit Kothari – Vice-Chair Manoj Madhavan Catherine Sharpe

DRAFT

Mission Bay Transportation Improvement Fund Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes

January 27, 2022 10:00 am – 12 Noon On-line Meeting

Advisory Committee Seats
Seat 1 (Golden State Warriors)
Manoj Madhavan, Voting member
Yoyo Chan, Alternate
Seat 2 (UCSF)
Amit Kothari, Voting member
Clare Shinnerl, Alternate
Seat 3 (Neighborhood resident)
Bruce Agid, Voting member
Bruce Huie, Alternate
Seat 4 (Neighborhood business owner)
Catherine Sharpe, Voting member
Terezia Nemeth, Alternate
Seat 5 (Neighborhood resident)
Sarah Davis, Voting member
Sarah Bertram, Alternate

1. Call to order/rollcall -Bruce Agid, Chairperson

Voting members in attendance: Agid; Kothari, Sharpe; Davis; Madhavan Excused absences: None Alternates in attendance: Nemeth; Chan Alternates not in attendance: Huie; Shinnerl, Bertram

2. Approve minutes of December 16, 2021, Meeting

A motion was made by Amit Kothari to approve the minutes of the December 16, 2021 meeting and was second by Manoj Madhavan Member Comment – None Public Comments – None

Ayes – Agid; Kothari, Sharpe; Davis; Madhavan Nays -none Motion passed

3. Resolution to allow teleconferenced meetings under California government code section 54953(e)

Kim Walton, staff liaison read the resolution regarding the continuation of holding teleconference public meetings. A motion was made by Amit Kothari and was seconded by Sarah Davis to adopt the resolution as read.

Committee comments:

Amit Kothari stated that when he has attended public meetings and the resolution is referred to, but not read. He suggested that the MB TIF AC adopts the same format.

Public comments - None

The motion previously put forward was revised to read as follows: The MB TIF AC adopts the Resolution to allow teleconferenced meetings under California government code section 54953(e), and that at future meetings, the Committee's liaison will refer to the Resolution, but will not read it in its entirety.

On the Motion: Ayes – Agid; Kothari, Sharpe; Davis; Madhavan Nays – None Motion passed

4. Advisory Committee and City Staff review and approve Final Draft Budget Letter to the Mayor's Office FY 22-23, FY 23-24

Jonathan Rewers, acting SFMTA CFO provided the Committee with a PowerPoint overview of the budget process and specific information on each City agency/department's request.

The Committee reviewed the draft letter and the attachments which will be attached to the letter with no changes.

Committee comments:

Sarah Davis asked about SFMTA revenues that could be used to augment money provided by the Improvement Fund for services in the area.

Bruce Agid stated that metrics will provide a clear "picture" of what service levels are being provided by SFMTA, SF Public Works, and SF Police Department and their associated costs. He also provided clarification regarding percentage of funding allotted to each agency/department. Specifically, there are no department percentage allotments outlined in the MB TIF legislation.

Catherine Sharpe asked about Slide #16 in the presentation regarding actual transit usage.

Manoj Madhavan stated that transit levels/service are down due to staffing shortages.

Bruce Agid made a motion to approve the 2022-2023 and 2023 -2024 budget recommendations as stated in the letter as presented and was seconded by Sarah Davis.

Public comments:

Victoria Chan, SF Public Works stated that the budget Sf PW presented did not include costs associated with emptying trash cans located in some of the Mission Bay parks.

Committee comments:

Catherine Sharpe stated that the letter could be revised to reflect this information.

The motion to approve the 2022-2023 and 2023 -2024 budget recommendations as stated in the letter as presented amended and will include language stating that adjustments might be made if either funds are either not needed for services or if additional funds are needed based on metrics (showing the need for increasing city services).

On the Motion: Ayes – Agid; Kothari, Sharpe; Davis; Madhavan Nays – None Motion passed

5.) Metrics Update

Manoj Madhavan gave a brief update about metrics. Transit ridership is slowing increasing. More people are coming to the neighborhood. City departments will be reminded to complete the forms and send them in regularly.

6.) Old Business

a.) Samuel Thomas commendation letter
Bruce Agid made a motion to approve the letter commending prior SFMTA employee Samuel Thomas and was seconded by Amit Kothari.
Committee comments: None
Public comments: None

On the Motion: Ayes – Agid; Kothari, Sharpe; Davis; Madhavan Nays – None Motion passed

b.) Review status re: congestion, pedestrian safety, Muni impacts based on interim funding levels and resource availability

Manoj Madhavan stated that consultants Fehr & Peers are working on a multi-modal status report which will be available April 2022. The implementation of lane changes with support from SFMTA staff has helped with congestion.

Leslie Bienefeld, SFMTA Transit Operations, stated that there have been some tweaks to Muni service and that data is being collected to help inform future service to the area.

Mission Bay Transportation Improvement Fund Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes January 27, 2022

Committee comments:

Sarah Davis asked about if a neighborhood survey would be conducted to gage the resident feels on traffic and transit. The answer was Yes. It is included to the agreed to package of metrics.

Public comments: None

7. Review of 2022 Workplan

The Committee reviewed the proposed 2022 Workplan. Committee comments: Manoj Madhavan stated that he approved of the meeting frequency.

Public comment: None

Bruce Agid made a motion to approve the 2022 Workplan and was seconded by Catherine Sharpe.

On the Motion: Ayes – Agid; Kothari, Sharpe; Davis; Madhavan Nays – None Motion passed

8. Public Comment -there were no comments from the public.

9. Advisory Committee Comments and Future Agenda Items- none

Motion to adjourn

Bruce Agid made a motion to adjourn the meeting and was seconded by Manoj Madhavan.

On the Motion: Ayes – Agid; Kothari, Sharpe; Davis; Madhavan Nays – None Motion passed

The meeting ended at 11:42 am.