This page has older content

Please see Related Projects on this page for current project information. We are keeping this page as a record of SFMTA outreach.

What is Van Ness Bus Rapid Transit?

Share this:

Rendering of a Bus Rapid Transit boarding platform on Van Ness that shows two transit-only lanes in the center of Van Ness and a shelter with seating.

The Van Ness Improvement Project, a civic improvement project on Van Ness Avenue from Lombard to Mission streets, includes safety enhancements, utility replacements and transportation upgrades including San Francisco's first Bus Rapid Transit system.

Bus Rapid Transit on Van Ness will be a part of Muni's Rapid Network that prioritizes frequency and reliability for customers like you. The planned improvements are expected to cut travel times for Golden Gate Transit and the 47, 49 and 90 Muni routes by 32 percent. That means an estimated 1,887 hours of travel time saved every day for Muni riders on Van Ness!

Some features of Bus Rapid Transit on Van Ness will include:

  1. Dedicated transit-only lanes, for use by Muni and Golden Gate Transit buses only, that are physically separated from the other traffic lanes.
  2. Enhanced traffic signals optimized for north-south travel with Transit Signal Priority, which keeps buses moving by holding the green light as they approach an intersection.
  3. Low-floor vehicles and all-door boarding, which will make it quicker and easier for passengers to load and unload at each stop.
  4. Safety enhancements for people walking like sidewalk extensions, median refuges, high visibility crosswalks, and audible countdown signals.
  5. Fully furnished boarding platforms that include shelters, seating and NextMuni prediction displays located at key transfer points.

Planning for other Bus Rapid Transit projects on Geary Boulevard is underway.

For a full-size diagram of the boarding platform locations on Van Ness, please click the image below.


Diagram showing bus stop locations on Van Ness at Market, McAllister, Eddy, Geary-O'Farrell, Sutter, Sacramento, Jackson, Vallejo, and Union