FINAL UPDATE: Delay near Castro and 24th has cleared. IB/OB 24 resuming regular service. (More: 30 in last 48 hours)

Muni Forward Brings You More Service, Muni Rapid, New Map

Friday, April 3, 2015

Note: As of January 7, 2023, the K Ingleside and T Third are no longer combined. The K Ingleside continues to run between Balboa Park and Embarcadero stations. The T Third runs between Sunnydale and Chinatown-Rose Pak Station via Central Subway. 

We know you have better things to do than wait on us. And we’re working every day to make it easier to get around the city. This April, as part of our Muni Forward initiative, we’re rolling out the most significant series of service improvements in decades. The improvements combine substantial service increases for 165,000 daily riders, a rebranding of “Limited” lines to “Rapid,” renaming and renumbering bus routes to complement the new Muni map, and rolling out eye-catching bus shelter enhancements. Together, these improvements result in a less crowded ride and make it easier and simpler to navigate the Muni network.
Coming April 25: We’re Increasing Service!
This April’s service improvements will directly benefit 165,000 daily Muni riders. More service means less time waiting for Muni—and more time for things that matter.

Service Improvement


Increased AM Frequency

5R, 8AX, 8BX, 10, 14R, 14X, 28, 38L, 41

Increased PM Frequency

5R, 8AX, 8BX, 14R, 14X, 38R, 41

Increased Midday Frequency

5R, 8, 14R, 29

Extended AM Hours

1AX, 1BX, 8AX, 8BX, 14X, 30X, 31AX, 31BX

Now on Sundays!


Extended Weekend Hours


We’ll also be discontinuing a handful of stops on April 25. Less stopping along the route means Muni can travel the same distance in less time, making service more reliable. For a full list of discontinued stops, and more information on the upcoming service improvements, click here.


Rapid is the New Limited
R is replacing L for Limited-stop routes. 
This April we’re also launching our new “Rapid Network,” which will make travel on Muni’s most heavily used routes quicker and more efficient. The Rapid Network will use transit priority lanes to move buses more efficiently and create better boarding zones to make boarding the bus safer and faster. On Rapid Network lines, we will also give buses and trains “transit signal priority” in order to reduce delays. Many of these improvements are already underway, with more planned all across the city in the coming years! Learn more about the Rapid Network.
As part of the Rapid Network rollout, the term “Rapid” (R) will replace “Limited” (L) for Limited-stop routes. “Rapid” routes will encompass all the benefits of the “Limited” routes but will see increases in frequency and reliability in the coming months as the routes receive additional investment in transit priority improvements.
Muni’s Rapid Network will include the following routes:
  • 5R Fulton Rapid (5L)
  • 9R San Bruno Rapid (9L)
  • 14R Mission Rapid (14L)
  • 28R 19th Ave Rapid (28L)
  • 38R Geary Rapid (38L)
  • 7R Haight-Noriega Rapid (71L)
  • J Church
  • L Taraval
  • N Judah
  • KT Ingleside/Third Street 
  • M Ocean View 
You’ll notice new shelter enhancements like bike racks, shelter decals, and redesigned flag signs popping up at Rapid and Metro shelters over the coming months. These enhancements will making finding and navigating the Muni network easier. For a sneak peak of what the shelter decals will look like, check out the N Judah stop at Carl and Cole! 
Stop branding
Muni’s Got a Brand New Map
Along with the Rapid Network, we’re rolling out a new, more legible Muni map that is streamlined and designed to convey the frequency of service on any given route. The map will use different colors and thickness of lines to differentiate between the most frequent service (Metro, Rapid, Express) and local transit service. You’ll see the map in Muni shelters soon, and it’s also available to view here
New Muni Map
New Route Numbers and Names
For the new Muni network, lower numbered routes generally represent our higher frequency of service, while higher number routes serve as neighborhood connectors.  Have a look so you know which bus is yours after Saturday, April 25. Muni will change seven route names to follow this system.



6 Parnassus

6 Haight-Parnassus

8X Bayshore Express

8 Bayshore

16X Noriega Express

7X Noriega Express

17 Parkmerced

57 Parkmerced

33 Stanyan

33 Ashbury-18th

71/71L Haight-Noriega

7/7R Haight-Noriega

108 Treasure Island

25 Treasure Island

This April marks a milestone for Muni Forward, and we hope you’re as excited as we for all of the improvements coming now and those we’re planning for the future. Tell us what you think by visiting, and visit for more information.