FINAL UPDATE: Delay at Ferry Portal has cleared. OB #NJudah and #TThird resuming regular service. https://t.co/1JpSNkUJM7 (More: 21 in last 48 hours)

速度管理

SFMTA.com/SpeedManagement

為舊金山帶來更安全的速度 

在舊金山,超速是導致交通死亡和重傷的主要原因——而降低速度是我們可以用來挽救生命的最有效的工具。  

減慢車速是“零願景”的核心原則,該願景是在全市範圍內消除交通死亡的承諾。舊金山正在製定和實施一項全面的速度管理戰略,該戰略將降低整個城市主要走廊的速度限制,同時開展教育活動和外展活動、改進執法戰略和穩定交通。根據 2021 年通過的第 43 號議會法案(弗里德曼),舊金山現在有權降低某些街道的限速,SFMTA 正在迅速採取行動,根據這項新立法實施更安全的限速區。  

根據立法,商業活動區現在正在放緩速度,接下來將在安全走廊發生:   

商業活動區減速 

根據 2022 年 1 月生效的 AB 43 的規定,SFMTA 將關鍵商業活動區(至少有一半物業用途是餐飲或零售)。作為該實施階段的一部分,MTA 委員會最初提議並批准了七條走廊。這 7 個地點將在 2022 年 4 月前實施。接下來,工作人員將在 2022 年夏季提出 35 條額外的立法走廊。     

Citywide map showing proposed 20 miles per hour business activity district corridors

在安全走廊上放慢速度 

從 2024 年開始,AB 43 還將允許城市在被指定為“安全走廊”的街道上將速度降低 5 英里/小時。該州必須制定定義安全走廊資格的標準。SF 正在為該州流程提供意見,以提供額外的靈活性,以降低重傷和死亡人數最多的街道上的速度。在舊金山,高傷害網絡顯示,75% 的嚴重和致命碰撞發生在僅 13% 的城市街道上。  

使用高傷害網絡為速度管理實施等 Vision Zero 項目提供信息,通過優先考慮我們最脆弱的社區來幫助 Vision Zero SF 中心公平。交通系統對所有道路使用者、所有交通方式、所有社區以及所有收入、種族和民族、語言、年齡、能力和住房狀況的人都應該是安全的。超過一半的高傷害網絡街道位於 Equity Priority 社區,該城市的區域因低收入家庭、高水平老年人、英語水平有限的人、殘疾等等。 

項目狀態 

截至 2022 年 1 月,SFMTA 正在迅速實施商業活動區的限速降低。自 2022 年 4 月起,首批獲准降低限速的七個走廊已全面實施: 

  • 聖布魯諾大道,從 Silver 到 Paul 大道:2022 年 1 月實施 
  • 波爾克街,從菲爾伯特街到薩特街:2022 年 1 月實施 
  • 24th Street,從 Diamond 到 Chattanooga 街道以及從 Valencia Street 到 San Bruno Avenue:2022 年 2 月實施 
  • Haight Street,從 Stanyan Street 到 Central Avenue 以及從 Webster 到 Steiner Street:2022 年 2 月實施 
  • Fillmore Street,從 Chestnut 到 Union 街以及從 Jackson 到 McAllister 街:2022 年 3 月實施 
  • Valencia 街,從 Cesar Chavez 到 Market 街:2022 年 3 月實施 
  • 海洋大道,從日內瓦大道到維多利亞街,從朱尼佩羅塞拉大道到第 19 大道:2022 年 4 月實施 

第二階段目前正在開發中,將包括多達 35 個走廊。工作人員正計劃在 2022 年 3 月/4 月為這些地點舉行公開聽證會,並在 2022 年 4 月/5 月為 MTAB 立法。計劃於 2022 年夏季開始實施第 2 階段地點。將於今年晚些時候提議第 3 階段的其他地點。  

低速的重要性 

Image shows that if a person is struck by a vehicle driving 20 mph, there is a 90 percent chance that the person survives the collision, and a 10 percent chance that it results in a fatality. If a person is struck by a vehicle driving 30 mph, there is a 60 percent chance that they survive, and a 40 percent chance that the collision results in a fatality. If a person is struck by a vehicle driving 40 mph, there is a 20 percent chance that they survive, and an 80 percent chance that the collision results in a fatality.

雖然將速度限制降低 5 英里/小時可能看起來不多,但實際上這可能是一個人能否在車禍中倖存下來的區別。與被時速 40 英里的車輛撞到的人有 20% 的倖存機會相比,被時速 20 英里的車輛撞到的人有 90% 的倖存機會。較低的速度限制使街道對所有用戶來說更安全:當駕駛員移動得更慢時,他們會給自己更多的時間來注意其他駕駛員、騎自行車的人和行人,他們有助於在街道上營造一個更平靜、更安全的環境。  

速度管理:不僅僅是降低速度限制! 

在全市範圍內引入較低的速度限制是舊金山朝著零願景邁出的重要一步。來自西雅圖等同行城市的數據表明,僅憑標牌就可以降低駕駛員速度並減少撞車次數。但舊金山致力於採用整體方法進行速度管理。標牌是這項工作的一部分,但 SFMTA 還專注於實施街道設計改進,鼓勵降低速度並為所有人創造更安全的街道。 

了解有關 SFMTA 計劃的更多信息,以創建更安全的街道並鼓勵降低速度: 

推廣交通安全文化 

零願景旨在讓人們首先承認交通死亡是一個可以預防的問題,然後讓人們通過個人行動和行為來促進交通安全,共同建立一種優先考慮交通安全的文化。教育和宣傳在提高公眾意識、鼓勵更安全的駕駛員行為、影響政策討論、建立社區支持以結束交通死亡方面發揮著重要作用,並且在與其他安全乾預措施協調使用時發揮最佳作用。 

作為公眾支持的代表,跟踪品牌知名度的逐年調查結果表明,越來越多的居民或居民意識到 Vision Zero SF。公眾對超速危險的看法每年都在朝著正確的方向發展,這表明自 2014 年採用“零願景”以來,受教育運動、政策決策和工程影響的態度持續發生變化。 

速度管理的實施將建立在這些努力的基礎上,並結合教育策略,使用多語言外展、有針對性的數字廣告、公共汽車候車亭和燈桿橫幅上的實體廣告等策略,在資金允許的情況下接觸受影響的司機、居民、商人和社區。 

謝謝你! 

Activists gather in the Tenderloin to unveil new 20 mph signs. They hold signs saying "20 is plenty" and "drive like anyone you love lives here"

SFMTA 很自豪能夠實施 AB 43 授權的更安全的速度限制,並認識到這項變革性立法的通過是 WalkSF、SF Bike Coalition、舊金山灣區安全街道家庭和所有許多公民寫信,召集聽證會,並在社交媒體上表示支持更安全的速度。我們感謝他們的承諾和大會運輸委員會主席勞拉弗里德曼的領導,舊金山的前議員 David Chiu 和議員 Phil Ting 以及倫敦市長和監事會共同發起人。我們致力於打造更安全的舊金山街道,並將緊急努力降低限速以挽救生命。 

Contact Information

HeadsUp: This Monday, 5/30, is #MemorialDay. #SFMuni svc will operate on a Sunday schedule. Parking meters and nigh https://t.co/aL1TTZKs2Z (More: 24 in last 48 hours)

Speed Management

SFMTA.com/SpeedManagement

Bringing Safer Speeds to San Francisco 

In San Francisco, speeding is the leading causes of traffic deaths and severe injuries—and lowering speeds is the single most effective tool we can use to save lives.  

Slowing speeds is a core principle of Vision Zero, the citywide commitment to end traffic deaths. San Francisco is developing and implementing a comprehensive speed management strategy that will reduce speed limits on key corridors throughout the city, alongside educational campaigns and outreach, improved enforcement strategies, and traffic calming. Under Assembly Bill 43 (Friedman), which was passed in 2021, San Francisco now has the authority to lower speed limits on certain streets, and the SFMTA is moving quickly to implement safer speed zones under this new legislation.  

Following the legislation, slowing speeds is happening now for business activity districts, and will happen next in safety corridors:   

Slowing Speeds in Business Activity Districts 

Under the provision of AB 43 that came into effect in January 2022, the SFMTA is lowering speeds by 5 mph (from 25 mph to 20 mph, or 30 mph to 25 mph) in key business activity districts (streets where at least half of the property uses are dining or retail). Seven corridors were initially proposed and approved by the MTA Board as part of this implementation phase. These 7 locations will be implemented by April 2022. Next, staff are proposing 35 additional corridors for legislation in summer 2022.   

Citywide map showing proposed 20 miles per hour business activity district corridors

Slowing Speeds on Safety Corridors 

AB 43 will also allow cities  to lower speeds by 5 mph on streets that are designated as “safety corridors” beginning in 2024. The state must develop criteria for defining safety corridor eligibility. SF is providing input on this state process to provide the additional flexibility to reduce speeds on streets that have the highest number of severe injuries and fatalities. In San Francisco, the High Injury Network shows that 75% of severe and fatal collisions occur on just 13% of city streets.  

Using the High Injury Network to inform Vision Zero projects such as speed management implementation helps Vision Zero SF center equity by prioritizing our most vulnerable communities. The transportation system should be safe for all road users, for all modes of transportation, in all communities and for people of all incomes, races and ethnicities, languages, ages, abilities, and housing status. Over half of High Injury Network streets are in an Equity Priority Community, areas of the city that have been identified as disadvantaged or vulnerable through factors such as households with low-income, high levels of seniors, people who have limited English proficiency, people with disabilities, and more. 

Project Status 

As of January 2022, the SFMTA is quickly implementing speed limit reductions on business activity districts. The first seven corridors approved for speed limit reductions are fully implemented as of April 2022: 

  • San Bruno Avenue, from Silver to Paul avenues: Implemented January 2022 
  • Polk Street, from Filbert to Sutter streets: Implemented January 2022 
  • 24th Street, from Diamond to Chattanooga streets and from Valencia Street to San Bruno Avenue: Implemented February 2022 
  • Haight Street, from Stanyan Street to Central Avenue and from Webster to Steiner streets: Implemented February 2022 
  • Fillmore Street, from Chestnut to Union streets and from Jackson to McAllister streets: Implemented March 2022 
  • Valencia Street, from Cesar Chavez to Market streets: Implemented March 2022 
  • Ocean Avenue, from Geneva Avenue to Victoria Street and from Junipero Serra Boulevard to 19th Avenue: Implemented April 2022 

Phase 2 is currently under development and will include up to 35 corridors. Staff are planning Public Hearings for these locations in March/April 2022, and MTAB legislation in April/May 2022. Implementation for Phase 2 locations are planned to begin in summer 2022. Additional locations in Phase 3 will be proposed later this year.  

The Importance of Lower Speeds 

Image shows that if a person is struck by a vehicle driving 20 mph, there is a 90 percent chance that the person survives the collision, and a 10 percent chance that it results in a fatality. If a person is struck by a vehicle driving 30 mph, there is a 60 percent chance that they survive, and a 40 percent chance that the collision results in a fatality. If a person is struck by a vehicle driving 40 mph, there is a 20 percent chance that they survive, and an 80 percent chance that the collision results in a fatality.

While reducing speed limits by 5 mph may not seem like a lot, it can actually be the difference in whether or not someone survives a crash. Compared to the 20% chance of survival someone has being struck by a vehicle traveling 40 mph, a person has a 90% chance of surviving being struck by a vehicle going 20 mph. Lower speed limits make streets safer for all users: when drivers move more slowly, they give themselves more time to notice other drivers, cyclists, and pedestrians, and they contribute to a calmer, safer environment on the street.  

Speed Management: More than Lowering Speed Limits! 

Introducing lower speed limits across the city is a significant step forward in San Francisco’s progress toward Vision Zero. Data from peer cities like Seattle has shown that signage alone can lower driver speed and reduce the number of crashes. But San Francisco is committed to taking a holistic approach to speed management. Signage is one piece of this work, but the SFMTA is also focused on implementing street design improvements that encourage slower speeds and create safter streets for all. 

Learn more about SFMTA programs to create safer streets and encourage slower speeds: 

Promoting a Culture of Traffic Safety 

Vision Zero aims to engage people to first acknowledge that traffic deaths are a preventable problem, and then empower people to promote traffic safety through individual actions and behaviors that collectively build a culture prioritizing traffic safety. Education and outreach play an important role in raising public awareness, encouraging safer driver behaviors, influencing policy discussions, building community support to end traffic deaths, and are best leveraged when used in coordination with other safety interventions. 

Year-to-year survey results tracking brand awareness as a proxy for public support indicate an increasing number or residents are aware of Vision Zero SF. Public perception of the dangers of speeding is also trending in the right direction each year, indicating a sustained change in attitudes influenced by education campaigns, policy decisions, and engineering since Vision Zero was adopted in 2014. 

Speed management implementation will build on these efforts and pair education strategies to reach impacted drivers, residents, merchants, and neighborhoods using strategies such as multilingual outreach, targeted digital advertising, physical advertising on bus shelters and light pole banners, and more as funding permits. 

Thank You! 

Activists gather in the Tenderloin to unveil new 20 mph signs. They hold signs saying "20 is plenty" and "drive like anyone you love lives here"

The SFMTA is proud to implement the safer speed limits authorized by AB 43—and recognizes that the passage of this transformative legislation was the result of years of advocacy by WalkSF, SF Bike Coalition, San Francisco Bay Area Families for Safe Streets, and all the many citizens who wrote letters, called into hearings, and voiced their support on social media for safer speeds. We appreciate their commitment and the leadership of Assembly Transportation Committee Chair Laura Friedman, San Francisco co-sponsors former Assemblymember David Chiu and Assemblymember Phil Ting, along with Mayor London Breed and the Board of Supervisors. We stand committed to safer streets in SF and will work urgently to reduce speed limits to save lives. 

Contact Information